You’re safe in my heart

  

It wasn’t until I realised I was losing my mind, 

one cell at a time, that I accepted 

I had to let you go,

So I opened my hand, and you slipped 

through my fingers like sand,

But every time I walked along the shoreline, 

there were particles of you everywhere, 

and I’d always carry you back with me.

On a second attempt, I screamed your name 

into the void, hoping it’ll somehow take away the pain,

But the eco kept bringing you back to me.

I even tried to burn your memories down to ashes, 

but the smoke became the air that I breathe.

and then I went to the end of this endless path, 

and buried you in the deepest pit I could dig,

But as I walked down that path, I realised, 

I also buried my heart, 

And as all my attempts of erasing you 

from my life failed,

I had to accept I can’t get rid of you.

You were never in my memories, or on my mind, 

in my hand or in the air that I breathe,

You were Me all along.

And how could I get rid of me?

And as my world seemed to be falling apart,

All I had to do was play my part,

accept you for what you are,

So from now on its a brand new me, and a brand new start,

and you… I’ll be keeping you safe in my heart.
-Akanksha Gulia

5 thoughts on “You’re safe in my heart

Leave a comment